In addition to the penalties associated with a sex crime conviction, such as prison time and fines, a person may be forced to register as a sex offender. Under California Penal Code Section 290, people convicted of sex-related offenses are required to register as a sex offender for the rest of their life. California is one of only a few states that require lifetime registration as a sex offender after a sex crimes conviction.
People required to register as a sex offender will have to register within five (5) days of their birthday each year, for the rest of their life. Sexually violent predators are required to report their information more often, every 90 days. Registration is with local law enforcement, including police departments or sheriff's office, depending on the individual's location. If an individual is attending college or university, they also have to report to campus police.
Additionally, every time a registrant moves, they have to notify authorities and re-register within five (5) days. If a registrant has more than one residence, they will have to register for each address. If a registrant is homeless or transient, they have to update their location every 30 days.
Moving Out of State
Moving out of California will most likely still require a person to register as a sex offender. Although different jurisdictions have different sex offender registration requirements, every state has some form of sex offender registry. The Department of Justice's Sex Offender Tracking Program is responsible for keeping track of registered sex offenders.
Public Access to Sex Offender Registry
After Megan's Law was enacted, sex offender registration has been made publicly available for most sex offenses. This provides for easily searchable websites for area sex offenders. Offenders can be identified by their name, age, identifying information, address, specific offense, and even their photograph. Anyone can access the sex offender websites to search for and identify sex offenders. However, registrants themselves are not allowed to access their own profile.
Some registered sex offenders are eligible for exclusion from the internet's sex offender registry. They can apply directly to the California Department of Justice (DOJ) to have their name and information removed from the public sex offender list. Qualification for exclusion depends of the nature of the underlying sex offense conviction.
Failure to Register
Although registration as a sex offender is an administrative requirements, failure to register in accordance with the law is punishable as a criminal violation. It can be considered a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the sex crime committed and whether it was a subsequent failure to register. Willful failure to register as a sex offender could result in penalties of up to three (3) years in prison.
Sex Offender Defense Lawyers
Contact the offices of White Goldstein to speak with an attorney who specializes in defending people accused of sex offenses. We will provide you or your loved one with superior legal representation. We are dedicated to giving our clients the highest level of service. We will thoroughly investigate the charges you or your loved one face and will tirelessly work to have them dismissed.
Free Confidential Consultation
Call White Goldstein today at (310) 295-1810 for a free, confidential consultation.